Happy New Year!  Hope you had a good Christmas.  So far this January, I've been privileged to attend three different writers groups in East Tennessee--Night Writers, Poetry Society of Tennessee,NE, and the Lost State Writers Guild, which is new to me.  They met in Kingsport for lunch, and so I got to go.  (I don't like to drive at night, but I do have an appointment with an eye doctor to consider my options.)  That was delightful.  Two of the readers I already knew from the PST-NE.  Which brings me to something that's been on my mind for years: How to honor a poet.
     In the 1980s, at the MLA convention, I attended a session intended to honor Elizabeth Bishop.  I didn't know her poetry very well at that time, but I wanted to learn more.  She was there, but she was not reading.  She was in the audience.  Instead, professors were reading papers analyzing her poetry.  If I remember correctly, there was even a musical piece to honor her.  But apparently, she didn't feel honored.  She left in the middle of the session.  She simply walked out.
     Compare that to the first time I ever heard Gwendolyn Brooks read.  It was at Knoxville College in the 1970s.  My friend and I were two of the few white faces in the audience at Coleman Auditorium.  The place was packed.  But here's the thing.  When Gwendolyn Brooks walked on stage, she got a standing ovation before the even opened her mouth.  She was already elderly and somewhat feeble, even then.  But she read so beautifully.  I never knew how to read "We Real Cool" until I heard her.  And she told stories.  In that poem, there's a line that goes: "we jazz June."  She said she heard some critic say this referred to a gang rape of a young woman named June.  She laughed.  "I was just jazzing up the month of June--no moonlight and roses, please." 
      I have since learned much more about Elizabeth Bishop's poetry, enought to admire it.  I have heard her read, albeit on tape rather than in person.  (Her voice is rather flat, surprisingly.)  But apparently she shared Ms. Brooks' attitude toward the critics.
     How to Honor a Poet:  Don't analyze.  Just Listen!




Leave a Reply.