Kingsport is beginning to feel like home, especially as I reinvent myself, retired professor, poet.  The past two days make me especially aware of the opportunities right here in Kingsport.  At the Civic Center on Sunday I participated in a booth sponsored by Bubba's Book Swap, where I met several local authors.  If you don't know Bubba's book store, you should search it out.  It's on Sullivan as you approach Church Circle from down town.  You can tell by the yellow awning.  There I met Lisa Hall, Jenny Boggs, Carol Jackson, Sylvia Nichols, and Trixie Stilletto--whose books are available at Bubba's.
     Then Monday night, the Night Writers met at Books-a-Million for an open mic.  These are mostly young people, and I feel grateful that they tolerate me.  I've already told you how much I appreciate Todd Bailey's setting the web site up for me.  I could never have done it on my own.  And they have big plans. 
     On Friday, December 9th, from 7:00 till 9:00 pm, at the Renaissance Center here in Kingsport, Tennessee, the Night Writers will sponsor "An evening of poetry, prose, and song" to support the Second Harvest food Bank of Northease Tennessee.  Admission will be two cans of food per person--nutritious and non-perishable.  Come one, come all, and hear new voices.  For more information, see their website: www.nightwritersguild.weebly.com.



Leave a Reply.