First and foremost, I want to thank Todd Bailey for creating this website for me.  He's a poet in his own right, and a generous and kind person.  After reading "Flying Blind," he tells me he's a pilot too and appreciates all the detail in that poem.
      Monday night, the Night Writers are holding forth at Books-a-Million again--7:00, October 10.  Be there.
      But my greatest treat recently was a celebration at Roane State Community College on September 23.  It' been 40 years since RSCC opened its door in an elementary school in Harriman, Tennessee.  I was one of the "dirty dozen" who started there.  Keith McDaniel, who produced the "Clinton Twelve" and "Secret City," has done a celebration of this fortieth anniversary.   It premiered that Friday, and there were folks there I have seen in twenty years--Dr. and Mrs. Cuyler Dunbar were there, and Dr. Anne P. Minter, Dr. Harold Underwood, John Needham,  and Jim Kring.  There were six classrooms in that school.  The library was in the school cafeteria, and the science labs were in the school kitchen. 
     There were others who came later but carried on the tradition of excellence and caring--Becky Howard, Ann Powers, Bruce Fisher, Larry Bolden, Gary Heidinger.  In 1984 I went on the Southwest Field Trip with Bruce and Gary.  They laughed at my floppy hat, after all these years.
     Anne Minter was honored in the afternoon when a conference room was named for her.  Jim Brown had done a painting of the view from her office window.   It was good to be with old friends.
       Bye fo now, Nancy 
    




Leave a Reply.