On Thursday, July 18, President Obama made a surprise appearance in the White House press room and startled evferyone with candid and personal remarks about the George Zimmerman case.  That "could have been me 35 years ago," he said.
      I feel I must respond.
      I  have just finished reading The Gods in Everyjman by Jean Bolen.  I wanted to do this month's blod on that book.  The Goddesses in Everywoman made a profound impression on me years ago, but the Greek male gods I had a harder time with.  As with the goddesses, Bolen sees these as psychological forces competing in the male psyche.  There are the father figures, notably Zeus, and the sons--Apollo, Dionysius, Hermes, Ares.
     It is Ares I wish to consider---warrior, son of Hera a Zeus.  "In mythology, Ares represents the uncontrolled, irrational frenzy of battle."  Whatever happened between Zimmerman and the young teenage boy, it involves the psyche of Ares for both parties.  Bolen continues: "In our culture, Ares is equally devalued and rejected.  The black man has become the carrier of Ares attributes and the recipient of the denigration and contempt Ares received from his father.  Sexuality, violence, even the dancer aspects of Ares (in racist stereotypes) are attributes of the 'inferior' son."  "A prudent person wouold not attach anyone related to Ares, for to do so invited immediate retribution."
     In the spring of 1970, I was teaching at Coppin State College in Baltimore when the crisis at Kent State occurred.  At the time, there was little reaction on our campus, but when events at Jackson State came on the scene, there was immediate reaction.  There was no violence on our campus, only fierce rhetorical debates.  I was pleased to see my students--my students--make the rational arguments.  The school did shut down, but basically, the voice of Apollo (Reason) prevailed.  That was forty some years ago.
     And so it should now.  If you haven't read The Dreams from my Fahter and The Audacity of Hope,  find them at your local library and read the compelling stories that are told by this wise and prudent man who is our president.




Leave a Reply.