Sunday Sonnets came out in December 2012, but it wasn't out when I got out my Christmas cards.  So let me tell you a little more about this little book.  It's a "dialogue" (monologue?) based on the sermons of the Reverend Donald Morris, who was my pastor in Athens, Tennessee several years ago.  He was a poetry lover, and he incorporated poetry into almost all of his sermons.  T. S. Eliot was his favorite poet (though not mine, mine was Yeats).  We even had a poetry group meeting once a week at Trinity Methodist Church, the church next to the campus of Tennessee Wesleyan College, where I taught for almost twenty years.  But to the sermons: they were engaging, challenging, more than most sermons I have ever heard.  I was challlenged to read passages from the New Testament in ways I had never before.  When I wrote the first of these, I did not realize how many they would become.  At any rate, I present them to the world as one poet's search for spiritual truth.  At one poet, Reverend Morris said to his congregation: "I would have you become students of Christ." 
     Sunday Sonnets is published by Little Creek Books and is available through Amazon.com and Brooks and Noble.com,, even as a Nook book.  I hope you find the poems challenging enough to look for your own interpretations of the passages and continue the dialogue.   Peach in Christ.
june tapsell
1/26/2013 12:02:17 am

I will try to get a copy of it Nancy.Congratulations on your work.

Reply



Leave a Reply.